Part 2 – All About Oliver: To Keep or Not to Keep

Save me, rescue me!

and I promise to love you unconditionally.

I can forgive and I can love,

just cushion me like a sacred dove 

After having lost Chester 2 years ago at the tender age of 19 and Jonty last year at 17, I was in no mood for adoption. Despite my wife’s continuous pleas to rescue, I would have nothing of it.

When we were approached by animal welfare to foster Oliver for a few days, until a suitable home was found, I agreed.

Oliver came to us in a mess. His leg was bandaged after amputation, his ribs were sore and he struggled to walk. His phantom leg irritated him and he would often squeal in pain. He could not ascend or descend the stairwell at our home. We had to carry him. He cowered when I approached him and I thought to myself, “do I really need this in my life”.

He had a strong affection for the children and for our domestic helper, Rhoda. He followed her everywhere. But I could not approach. Moreover, anyone who tried to pat him, he would nibble. He was not familiar with affection or being stroked. He only knew that “the hand” to mean one thing.

Luckily, not too long after Oliver was rescued, a foster mom had been arranged. She lived in Lakeside area with two pugs. The perfect home for Oliver. I was pleased.

We had made arrangements with the lady to meet the next day, Saturday at Vondis in Sea Point at 11am. My wife was waiting for me at the shop and I had to bring Oliver to her. I went downstairs to get Oliver. He was lying peacefully on the couch.

As I approached to pick him up to load him into the car he looked straight into my eyes that went right through to my heart and said: “ I love you for what you have done. I will forever remember you. I hold no grudges against you or your human friends. I am committed to you to be loyal and loving for the rest of my life. Please let me stay”

I broke down in tears and I asked God to ask Oliver for forgiveness. I called my wife at the shop and said that I cannot give Oliver away. He must stay with our family.

Listen deeply to your soul mate,

there is no regret, no hate.

Just the ability to love all the same,

Again, again and again

Falling in love

Falling in love

Falling in love some more!

Falling in love some more!

Family!

Family!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.